As the highest democratically elected body of the university, the Senate is made up of the member groups Professors, Employees and Students. It stands alongside individual functions such as the president or chancellor and, depending on the legal situation, carries out leadership duties of a strategic, advisory, legislative or controlling character. It thus makes decisions regarding, for example, statues, development planning, study courses, research coordination, approval of the structuring into departments and department assignment. Furthermore, the Senate comments on issues including target agreements and the budget plan, appointment recommendations, honorary professorships, the establishment/dissolution of central institutions and the plan for the promotion of women. (For more information see the Hessen Higher Education Act, section 40.) The sessions are open to the entire university.



Prof. Lisa Borgenheimer

Prof. Alexander Oppermann

Prof. Peter Eckart 

Prof. Dr. Markus Holzbach 

Prof. Dr. Juliane Rebentisch

Prof. Mike Bouchet

Prof. Heiner Blum 

Prof. Kerstin Cmelka


Prof. Dr. Christian Janecke

Prof. Dr. Marie-Hélène Gutberlet

Prof. Martin Liebscher

Prof. Frank Zebner 

Prof. Dr. Martin Gessmann


Anouk Schmelz

Johanna Schuckhardt

Rahel Pabst

Leo Ahlers

Zuleikh Murtazaieva


Lea Sophie Krempin

Clara Schneider

Sebastian Blaauwbroek

Clara Maldener

Nicholas Okunowski

Vivien Weindl

Administrative-technical members

Christiane Kühn-Wilkens
Ute Schulz​

Sabine Klein 

​Silke Indinger

Scientific member

Andreas Klober​

Agnes Meyer-Wilmes

Anna-Lena Moeckl

Julian Schwarze


Vice President

Gender Equality Officer

Katja Kupfer

Chairman of the Staff Committee

Friedhart Riedel 

Confidant for people with disabilities

Anja Bernhardt

Chairman of AStA

Lina Brunner