Prof. Tatjana Turanskyj

turanskyj@hfg-offenbach.de

Main building

Discipline

Film

Subject/Area

Media

Faculty

Art

Img 0791 3

Vita

feminist-writer-director-producer-activist

Studied Literature, Sociology and Media Studies (M.A.) in Frankfurt am Main. Before and during her studies, Turanskyj worked as an actress in productions by director Einar Schleef. After her studies she worked in the advertising industry before she finally embarked on an artistic career in 1999. Since then she has been working at the interface of film, text and performance.  Together with Saskia Draxler she founded the OK-GIRL$ Gallery "post-german post-gender post-global". She was co-founder of the performance film collective "hangover ltd", which was associated at the Volksbühne am Rosa Luxemburg Platz. After 6 years and 7 performance films, she had had enough of collective practice and founded her own production company with Jan Ahlrichs to give feminist author cinema a real chance.

She bases her films on scientific and socio-critical studies and discourses and "stages perspectives on gender relations, service work, precarity, language and empty phrases, sexuality, 'pseudo-feminism', tensions between equality and emancipation. These are films that rub against reality, but are nevertheless fictional, funny and artificial. Together with the documentary filmmaker Marita Neher, she made a hybrid film about the European border regime on the Greek-Turkish border in 2014: "Disorientation is not a crime".

Her works are shown at international festivals (e.g. IFF Berlinale, IFF Rio de Janeiro, Mostra Internacional de Cinema Sao Paolo, IFF Gothenburg, IWFF Chennai, Cannes/ACID) and in exhibition contexts (Berlinische Galerie, 21Haus, Vienna, Kunstverein Karlsruhe and others). Turanskyj received various artistic and script scholarships, including a 2016 Fellow at the Villa Aurora. She lectures at international conferences on "Gender&Film" and is co-founder and board member of Pro Quote Regie/Film, an organization that has been successfully promoting equality and diversity in the film and media sector for the past 6 years.

Since winter semester 2020 Tatjana Turanskyj teaches in the field of film at the HfG Offenbach.

Prof. Tatjana Turanskyj

turanskyj@hfg-offenbach.de

Hauptgebäude

Lehrgebiet

Film

Fachrichtung/Bereich

Medien

Fachbereich

Kunst

Img 0791 3

Vita

feminist-writer-director-producer-activist

Studierte in Frankfurt am Main Literaturwissenschaft, Soziologie und Medienwissenschaft (M.A.). Vor und während ihres Studiums wirkte Turanskyj als Darstellerin in Inszenierungen des Regisseurs Einar Schleef mit. Nach dem Studium war sie zunächst in der Werbebranche tätig, bevor sie im Jahr 1999 endgültig eine künstlerische Laufbahn einschlug. Seitdem arbeitet sie an der Schnittstelle von Film, Text und Perfomance.  Zusammen mit Saskia Draxler gründete sie die OK-GIRL$ Gallery »post-german post-gender post-global«. Sie war Mitbegründerin des Performance Film Kollektivs »hangover ltd«, das an der Volksbühne am Rosa Luxemburg Platz assoziiert war. Nach 6 Jahren und 7 Performancefilmen hatte sie genug von kollektiver Praxis und gründete mit Jan Ahlrichs ihre eigene Produktionsfirma, um dem feministischen Autor_innenkino eine veritable Chance zu geben.

Ihren Filmen legt sie wissenschaftliche und gesellschaftskritische Studien und Diskurse zu Grunde und »inszeniert Perspektiven auf Geschlechterverhältnisse, Dienstleistungsarbeit, Prekariat, Sprache und Floskeln, Sexualität, 'Pseudofeminismus', Spannungsverhältnisse zwischen Gleichberechtigung und Emanzipation.« Es sind Filme, die sich an der Realität reiben, aber dennoch fiktiv, lustig und artifiziell sind. Mit der Dokumentarfilmerin Marita Neher drehte sie 2014 an der griechisch/türkischen Grenze einen hybriden Film über das europäische Grenzregime: »Orientierungslosigkeit ist kein Verbrechen«.

Ihre Arbeiten werden auf internationalen Festivals (z.B. IFF Berlinale, IFF Rio de Janeiro,  Mostra Internacional de Cinema Sao Paolo,  IFF Göteborg, IWFF Chennai, Cannes/ACID) und in Ausstellungskontexten (Berlinische Galerie, 21Haus, Wien, Kunstverein Karlsruhe u.a.) gezeigt. Turanskyj erhielt diverse künstlerische und Drehbuchstipendien, unter anderem war sie 2016 Fellow in der Villa Aurora. Sie hält Vorträge auf internationalen Konferenzen über »Gender&Film« und ist Mitbegründerin und Vorstandsmitglied von Pro Quote Regie/Film, einer Organisation, die sich seit 6 Jahren erfolgreich für Gleichberechtigung und Diversität im Film- und Medienbereich einsetzt.

Seit Wintersemester 2020 lehrt Tatjana Turanskyj im Bereich Film an der HfG Offenbach.

News

Img 0791 3
vor 11 Monaten

Neue Professorinnen: Film & Informationsdesign

Zum Wintersemester 2020/21 wurden zwei Professuren an der HfG Offenbach neu besetzt: Lisa Borgenheimer wurde auf die Professur Informationsdesign im Fachbereich Design berufen, Dr. Marie-Hélène Gutberlet und Tatjana Turanskyj auf die Professur Film im Fachbereich Kunst.

Kalender

16. Dezember 2020 bis 1. Mai 2021